Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Blog Tour: Rush by Gina Gordon

 

On May 12th, Loveswept released Rush by Gina Gordon. Do you have your copy yet? This is a hot, new adult romance that you are going to want to check out. Skeptical?  First, check out that cover. Second, I've got an excerpt, a giveaway and my review of the book, so stick around!

For the rest of the stops on the tour, check out Tasty Book Tours.

The Book


In this edgy, sizzling romance for fans of Monica Murphy and Abbi Glines, a bad boy shows a straitlaced law student how to slow down and savor the good things.

Everly Parker is about to graduate from law school, always busy, and can’t stop rushing through life. Her late grandmother left her a bucket list of meaningful, can’t-miss experiences, but she hasn’t completed a single one. Then searing-hot Max Levin bursts into her world. As a casting director for a porn production company, Max is loaded, cocky, and all wrong for Everly. Still, she’s tempted enough to cross the first item off her list: Go out with someone you’d never give the time of day.

Inheriting a porn empire isn’t every guy’s dream (well, actually, it probably is), but Max isn’t complaining. It’s just that until he meets Everly, he has no idea what he’s been missing. As the pressure mounts to take over the family business, Max can’t help wondering what would happen if he chose Everly instead. So far, his life has been a wild ride, but only Everly promises the greatest rush of all: love.

Rush is available now!

Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo | Publisher

Excerpt


“I’m in the business of bringing fantasy to life, Ms. Parker.” I was mesmerized by the soft swell of her breasts that poked above the neckline of her shirt. So subtle and delicate. “I bet you’ve got a few stored away for a rainy day.”

A sharp snap brought my attention back to her face. “Don’t you know it’s rude not to look someone in the face when talking to them?” When I finally brought my eyes up and away from her breasts, she was glaring at me. Her shoulders had migrated to her ears in annoyance.

I was usually a lot subtler when checking out the opposite sex. Not that I had to be. It was my job to analyze every curve and swell of a woman’s body, but served me right for giving in to my baser desires. She had totally called me on it.

“Hmm . . . I guess I don’t.” I stepped forward and walked around her, just as the hard crunching noise of the coffee grinder went off in the distance.

I liked this girl. She may be hiding what I was positive was an above-average body behind those frumpy clothes, but she had gumption. Confidence. Yet not the confidence I was used to. I made my living working with women who found their sense of self with their bodies. But not this woman. I had an inkling that her confidence originated from being first in her class.

Her head swiveled with my movements and I heard her tiny gasps for breath as I hovered, each time getting closer. Finally, I leaned in and whispered, “Want to teach me a lesson?” I grinned then stepped away, but not before I saw the shiver race up her spine.

So you do have an effect on her.

But when I turned to face her, she had already forgotten my affect on her body. “Somehow I have the feeling you’ve already got a long line of scorned women ready to teach you a lesson in manners.”

I heard Ben chuckle behind me, then clear his throat.

“TouchĂ©, Ms. Parker.”

“I have studying to do, so . . .” She lifted her chin, eyes blazing at me. “I’ll leave you to your meeting.”

“It’s too bad.” I squeezed myself back into the booth and kicked out one leg, resting my arm along the top of the seat back. “Guess I won’t be getting the lashing I so deserve.”

She laughed me off. Actually laughed at my words. Not that cute little giggle women usually got when I laid it on thick, but laughed at me. “Goodbye.” She walked away, but not before giving me one last look that cut right through me.


I’d been eyed before. By women and men. Always with a glimmer of seduction or the blatant go-ahead to bring them to my bedroom. But never like this. Never with such disregard for everything I was and everything I stood for. This woman didn’t know me. She was just like the others. Judging a book before she looked between the covers—and being a student, she should know better.

But I was used to people belittling my work and my character. I’d dealt with it my whole life. I knew what it was like to have people call my mother a dirty slut. How it felt to have my father compared to a pimp. But even after all the teasing and taunting that only adolescents could hammer at me, never had I ever felt the need to defend myself so thoroughly.

I returned my attention to Ben, Jade, and Stella, almost forgetting why I was here.

“Sorry about that,” Jade said. “Everly can be a bit uptight sometimes. She’s just stressed out with studying.”

“So, where were we,” Stella asked, leaning against me. From across the table, Ben stared with a curious, but shocked face. “I think we were going to give you a little sneak peek of our skills.” She purred and pawed at me like a cat in heat.

I wasn’t interested in watching a show. I was . . . confused. Confused at the fact that I was more interested in the bookworm three tables away than the two beautiful women in front of me.

Was it because I was taken aback by her quick wit and innocent smile? Or was it something more? Was it because she saw right through me? She knew I was Max Levin, the porn guy. But she . . . didn’t care.

I had walked into this cafĂ© with the intent of meeting and signing two escorts to short- term contracts. Instead, I wanted nothing more than to figure out why that Plain Jane had just woken up my cock. More importantly, why her indifference toward me actually hit a nerve. Women usually batted their eyelashes and looked at me with a dreamy gaze. Not this girl, she wasn’t wooed by my charms or status. And it was fucking intriguing.

“Would you excuse me a minute?”

Ben shot me a quizzical look. “Where are you going?”

“Ladies, would you mind discussing with Mr. Lockwood your boundaries? The type of scenes you’d be willing to film.” I stood and pulled out a draft contract from my pocket. “He’ll also discuss the average payouts.” I looked at him and clapped him on the shoulder. “Page twelve.”

The bookworm had just presented me with a challenge.


I wasn’t done with her. Not by a long shot.

My Review

First, a shout-out to Gina Gordon, the author, who lives in Milton, which is near where I live! Also, Rush is set in Toronto, and while I didn't think the city had a huge impact on the story, it gave me a little thrill every time I read it.


So, this one is intriguing, isn't it? The son of the Canadian porn king and a young woman in law school united together by a bucket list from beyond the grave! Honestly, it could have been any generic wealthy guy, and I would have picked this up, but the *porn* angle really makes things entertaining.

I don't know how accurate Rush's portrayal of the porn industry is, but I hope it's spot on. Because I found it refreshing. The emphasis on pleasure, the self-awareness of the absurdity of some of it, and the various angles when it comes to the money all combined to give me a generally positive impression. I don't doubt that there are some sketchy parts, some exploitative parts, and other generally negative components in pornography and the production thereof. But I hope that Max' company, and the general values it supported have some correlation to reality.

Rush is very hot. As you should expect, the pornography connection means a lot of blunt conversations about sex. Some of them are *hilarious*, some are very sexy, and others are eye-opening. I think the book handles this in the best possible ways. 

Everly is pretty awesome. I loved that she was so open-minded. I loved that Max was, from the very beginning of the book, so clearly into her and so clearly invested in doing the best he could for her. 

As sexy as this book is, there's also a very emotional romance happening here. There were some moments that made me sigh, some that made me tear up, and others that had me cheering. This is a very well-written book that manages to balance humour, eroticism and emotion in a satisfying way.  


Bottom line:

Rush is erotic, emotional, and entertaining. I was hooked from the first chapter, and I will happily return to this book for a re-read in the next few months. So good! Pick it up unless you're completely put off by the pornography angle.


5 stars
For fans of erotica, contemporary romance, new adult

About the Author




When her dream of becoming a mafia princess didn’t pan out, Gina Gordon went after her second dream: becoming a writer. And she hasn’t looked back. A self-proclaimed happily-ever-after junkie and cupcake connoisseur, Gordon loves spinning contemporary tales of knee-bending first kisses, unconditional love, and super-hot sex. She lives in Milton, Ontario, with her husband and their lovable dog.

3 comments:

  1. hehe I just want to stay here and stare :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right? You'd think that at some point all of these covers featuring half-naked men would get old, but... Kudos to the model and cover artist.

      Delete
  2. Thank you for hosting RUSH! So happy you enjoyed!

    ReplyDelete